By: Brian Evans

On Friday, the Democrat Controlled House Judiciary Committee announced that it had launched within hours of President Trump launching a ‘National Emergency’ declaration, an investigation into the President! In fact, House Judiciary Chairman Jerry Nadler (D-NY) sent a letter to President Trump, and signed by fellow Committee Democrats, that said…

“I didn’t need to do this, but I would rather do it much faster. We believe your declaration of an emergency shows a reckless disregard for the separation of powers and your own responsibilities under our constitutional system.”

Democrats, under the leadership of Nadler, then requested an immediate hearing with both the Department of Justice and White House counsel, Pat Cipollone. Democrats said that they want them to help  “understand both substantive rationale and legal justification” for President Trump’s “unilateral declarations.”

However, ‘National Emergency’ declarations are not uncommon. In fact, the Conservative Tribune reported that…

As it turns out, there are currently 31 ongoing national emergencies over which the president wields certain authorities, the first of which has been in existence since 1979 and is one of only two emergencies declared by Carter.

There were a total of six national emergencies during former President Ronald Reagan’s tenure, as well as four more during the administration of former President George H.W. Bush, all of which have ended.

Former President Bill Clinton declared 17 national emergencies — six of which remain in effect — while former President George W. Bush declared 12 national emergencies, of which 10 remain ongoing.

Then we get to former President Barack Obama, who declared 13 national emergencies, 11 of which continue to this day. Thus far, President Trump has declared three active and ongoing national emergencies.

Ironically, of the 13 National Emergencies President Obama signed during his time as President, they included things like the ‘Flint Water Crisis’, ‘Iran’, and even the ‘Swine Flu’. Eleven of his Thirteen National Emergencies are still in effect today, meaning CONGRESS HAS VOTED TO CONTINUE THEM, EVEN AS THEY MAKE IT APPEAR AS IF NATIONAL EMERGENCIES ARE RARE OCCURRENCE!

In other words, Democrats and their Mainstream Media allies are using the crisis on the border to try and smear the President as radical and out of control, despite the border being a MUCH BIGGER THREAT THAN Flint Michigan’s lead contamination of their water, or the swine flu!

Also, conveniently un-reported is the fact that the President has already signed three national emergencies including…

  1. Violence in Nicaragua
  2. Meddling in the 2018 Midterm Elections
  3. The Persecution of Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar (conveniently left out, since Democrats try to paint President Trump as an Islamaphobe!)

Also, Congress is required to meet once every six months to vote on any of the ongoing national emergencies, and to decide whether they believe any of them should continue or be concluded! However, USA Today reported that Congress has failed to do their job, which is why many of those National Emergencies are still in effect today. Therefore, Congress can vote to terminate the Presidents State of Emergency in six months! In fact, Congressional leaders are supposed to vote every six months, in a bi-partisan fashion to renew the Presidents State of Emergency! However, in the end, even though Congressional Democrats cry foul, just as Congressional Democrats are the ones who have the power to declare war, they are also the ones who have the power to end the Emergency Declaration, if they believe that it is necessary!

Therefore, regardless of the ridiculous left-wing outcry, President Trump’s declaration of a national emergency is completely legal, and if Congress has a problem with the President declaring national emergencies, then it is up to the power of Congress to change the law! Furthermore, ‘National Emergency’ declarations are not new! However, the only thing new is the Democrat outrage!