By: Brian Evans

South Dakota is about the become the thirteenth State to eliminate the requirement for concealed carry gun owners to carry a permit! Governor Kristi Noem (R-SD) announced that she will sign the legislation into law on Thursday, which means that they will join Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, West Virginia, Wyoming, and Vermont, who also allow permit-less carry!

Governor Noem’s announcement follows the South Dakota House of Representatives and the Senate’s passage of legislation that officially repealed the concealed carry permit requirements. The Governor said…

The concealed carry permit requirement would have been eliminated in 2018, but when the House and Senate passed it in November of 2018, former Governor Dennis Daugaard (R-SD) vetoed the bill. However Noem had openly voiced her support for the legislation during her campaign, and now she is set to follow through with her pledge to the constituents in the State of South Dakota.

Currently, there are three other states that are expected to likely pass legislation to remove permit requirements for concealed carry. Those States include Texas, Oklahoma, and Iowa. Furthermore, South Dakota’s actions today will likely polarize their efforts to quickly remove the requirements of their own state in the near future.